Never Give Up, You never know what might happen.


I have to share on whats going on. I work in the technology industry. I’m whats called a User Experience Architect, been doing this for 15 or so years. Due to working in technology, while the pay on an hourly contract can be upwards of $120/hr. With my average yearly salary of $140,000. These positions sometime last and other times do not. It gets frustrating. As with most technology oriented people we are always thinking of the next Instagram. Hoping to find and launch that next big thing. When your young, you do it for fame, money, glory etc. Now, I just want to be able to take care of my family and not have to worry financially. I cam up with a concept towards the end of last year. I reached out to a mentor of mine and asked him what he thought. My way of validating the concept. He was a VP level at a big technology company here in the US. So, if he thought it was crap, I would have moved onto the next idea. Well, he loved it and wanted in. So, he’s now my co-founder.

We’ve been working on this not writing code but from a business standpoint since then. I’ve researched technology, competitors, from A-Z and beyond. I dont write complex code, something this would need. I reached out to another friend, he liked the concept but was tied up. Months went by and the more people I networked with liked the idea as well. Again, vetting the concept all along the way. At any point I could have ditched it. Well, I speak to my friend again. Let him know that if we had a demo I have the funding people ready to allow me to pitch them and invest what we need to quit other jobs and work on this full time.

Well, he built it yesterday. In a freaking day!! It’s rough and needs clean up but the damn thing works!! I was asked to go to a networking event to meet with some fellow mentors for an up coming tech startup weekend where I’ll be assisting them on their design. While there I ran into a VC, Venture Capital investor that I know. He asked what I was working on. I let him know and his words were, “I want in!!” as he said 3 times over.

Without even having it built yet, I’ve been a busy bee and a few companies want to test it out when we’re ready. Like, the World Bank, The IMF, The US Federal Communication Commission, McDonalds, and a few others. They can test it all they want and for free.

Besides that I had been out of work for the past 3 or so weeks. We paid half this months rent, not knowing were next months was going to come from. I can pick up another project but in some cases it can take upwards of a month before things get going. My wife wasn’t worried but I sure as hell was. Well, I got a call from a recruiter last week. “We have a management position with X big technology company 30 minutes from your house. Would you like us to submit you for it? UHHHH, Yes please!! They did and I got an interview the next day. I aced the interview. I’ve been told that I can speak really well. So, selling myself isnt a problem. When you’ve held as many positions as I have you get real good at the interview process. They made me an offer and cancelled all their other interviews. Then I had to wait over a week for a background check to clear. OMG! That was the longest amount of time to wait.

Well, I got a call last night at 6pm. Asking me if I would like to start today. Yes! was my answer. I got off the phone and did a happy dance. I walked in today and got a lot of “we’re glad your here. You’re going to be busy.” This is a new position for the company and it’s mine to lose.

 

I’m letting you know this not to gloat. But to show you that if you push through the bad times. If you stick with it. Things will start to happen. One thing, they dont happen on their own. You have to fight for what you want to happen in your life and never, never give up. There is no reason for you to be where you are right now. YOU can make a choice. YOU do have free will. YOU and only YOU decides what happens to YOU. This isnt being self centered. But, if you do well. Then your loved ones, family, partners whatever will benefit right along with you. So many people live THEIR lives for someone else. If you have kids, little ones still at home. Then thats different and to be expected. But, for others where it’s just adults. Ask, yourself this. “Would I want to be in love with me, right now, right here?” If the answer is yes, then your golden, move along, here’s your t-shirt. If you answer no, then you have some choices to make.

If I can impart anything on those that read my blog. Is that you have to love yourself first before anyone else can love you. If you don’t love yourself, stop pissing and moaning about it and do something.

~ by Frustrated Hubby on May 17, 2012.

7 Responses to “Never Give Up, You never know what might happen.”

  1. Hi, just found you blog and have been reading the last year or 2 of posting. It’s good to know that I’m not a lone, it’s been 6 months without sex and the pain and frustration is unbearable, what makes it worst is that the sex 6 months ago was amazing (truly) for a single month or so (otherwise it was mostly basic sex every other month for years before that). On the subject of ‘doing something for me’ I’ve started getting seriously fitter (after years of laziness), planning my first running race in September and hoping to be ready for my first triathlon in the new year. I train daily to easy the pain, hard exercise schedules empty my brain effective for a while. Have you ever considered allowing others to contribute to the blog, sort of community therapy?

    • Hi Mat. Welcome to the club! not a brilliant one to be a memberof though! I couldn’t help noticing that you say your sex life was amazing for about a month then dropped off again. Have you asked her why? What changed for her then stopped? Is she on hormonal birth control, that seems to have a weird effect sometimes. Allows them the freedom to have sex whenever they want but crashes their sex drive at the same time.Was she reading ’50 Shades of Grey’?! that book seems to have woken up more than a few women lately!

      • Thanks, this is a weird one, I’ve only today receive the alert that my comment had a response!!!!!!

        Anyway, I’m still in the club, thanks for the welcome although I’d rather not be a member (no offence!). So, taking the spirit of your advance and also being mindlessly bored with work (I too are in technology) I’ve started exercising, actually *really training* ! The last 20 years have been a lazy man piling on the pounds and that all stopped in June. The last few months have been great, training 3-4+ times a week and training harder when I’m feeling particularly frustrated or annoyed with sex (or complete absence of it). I now regularly (read 2-3 times a week) run 8 miles always less than an hour, regularly swim 1.5 miles again in under an hour now and started cycling (30miles which takes a little longer). I can’t recommend it highly enough, if your up tight then take it out on the road or pool (better swim swim in a lake or sea, that’s truly hard), it’s a killer but you start to feel good, in fact great!!! It doesn’t replace sex but it does give you an outlet that helps (and its good for you). Also did my first triathlon event!

        Since starting this I’ve dropped 40 pounds (I’m over 6ft and it’s the first time in 20 years I’m below 200 pounds!!) and getting close to a six pack at 40 something years old is insane!!!!! :-D

        As for my relationship with my lady, nothings markedly improved, there’s near to no physical contact (hugs/kisses/etc) but there’s still a glimmer of hope (at least in my mind). I know the problem is psychological not related to birth control or any other drugs (doesn’t take them). Pretty sure she didn’t read shades of grey either. She won’t truly discuss it which is really hard for me and nothing I do makes a difference. So, it’s now late October, 2 months left of the year. The new year will force a decision in my mind (no one knows this except me), lets hope!

  2. Congratulations! I didn’t read it as a gloating or boastful post. It is well deserved. Thank you for sharing with us.

  3. Wow… somehow I had forgotten the details of that little lecture you just blogged at me. You know the part about YOU YOU and oh ya, YOU!
    Thanks. Sometimes it just takes a little kick in the pants to wise up. Good luck in all your endeavors.
    Dickianngarcia in Tucson AZ

  4. First off I am thrilled for you! Second AMEN! It is not selfish to take care of yourself and make yourself a better person by getting and doing what you want!

    Thank you for this blog.

  5. Happy for you and your family. Your vision and desire to achieve your dream is what everyone should strive to do.

Leave a Reply

 
