Already Missing Them…


I’m sitting at the Ronald Regean airport writing to tell you that I got a new position. I’ll be a Sr. Visual Designer for a software company in Arlington,VA. It’s great news. A full time job with benefits, stock options and 3 weeks of PTO to start. A salary thats higher then I have ever made in my career so things are looking up. We wont have to worry about paying bills, the mortgage, car payments and everything else that comes along with life. It’s hard being out of work, especially when your the person that pays the big bills.

The hard part is that it’s located in Arlinton, VA. Yes, it’s only an 1.5hr flight from home but its the fact that I wonf be around my family every evening. My wife will be on her own when I’m not there. I’m excited and already missing them just thinking about the pending move.

Will absence make the ehart grow fonder? I dont know. I hope my wife understands how hard this is for me really. I’m slightly worried that it will force her to live and do things on her own, and come to realize that she really doesnt need me. All I can think about is that I’m willing to make this sacrafice to take care of my family. Look at the news, you see 2000 laid-off from here and 4000 from there. It’s going to get worse, but this company is stable and just made a nice offer. One thing I can’t get back is time and I know that. I hope my son, for as ling as I do this understands one day what I am having to do.

~ by Frustrated Hubby on December 12, 2008.

7 Responses to “Already Missing Them…”

  1. Dear friend.
    I am from asia. i am facing same problems. i am suffering with my family life. but have two kids. that’s the problem.
    Pl. contact me and responce your advise and comments———–sumi
    sumith1m2001@yahoo.com

  2. Totally already missing you too…

    I SO LOVE YOU!

  3. Congratulations! You are so right…having a job (especially one that pays more than you have ever made before) is quite a blessing these days. One day at a time….I truly hope that things work out well for you and your family

  4. Congratulations and good luck!

  5. She’ll understand, it may be hard at first but I’m sure she’ll understand. She loves you, if she didn’t she wouldn’t have married you, you have children together and that’s a bond that you can’t break with someone. Once she realizes that you are doing this for the good of your family she’ll realize how much she really does love you. It would be hard on any wife to have her husband so far away. I hope everything works out for you and no matter how far apart you are from your family know that everything you do is for them and one day they WILL appreciate it.

  6. You’re doing the responsible, right thing as far as I’m concerned. In the long run, you’re setting an awesome example for your son to follow… the example that family comes first and is most important. I’m very proud of you.

  7. Good luck with the new job and family arrangements. It will not be easy on any of you, but I am sure you all can make it work.

Leave a Reply

 
