Employers – Their Pissing Me Off!!


There is something new going on in the interview game. A recruiter sets you up for an interview. Your skill set couldn’t match their own position description if you wrote it yourself, a shoe in you think. Now, I take pride in the fact that I know my skill set, my abilities and am able most of the time to sell myself as an employee if I can get in front of the right person.

Here is whats happening. Your in the interview and they ask you “So, what would you need in a salary for this position?” The loaded question. They as an employer KNOW what they are willing to pay someone for that job. They ask you and if your number is higher then the one they know they are willing to pay then your spoken to nicely, slid over to the “to expensive” pile and the next person that comes in the might be able to do the job at their number or lower get the position.

Just freaken tell me what it will pay up front! How hard is it to say “this position pays X”. I have over 10 years as a web and graphics designer. Yes, I have a family, mortgage, car payments like the rest of us. No, I can’t live on $15/hr, it just won’t do it for me. BUT, toss out a number and allow ME to say yes or no. I might take an opportunity with lower pay if there is something to learn or gain later on down the road.

I’ve gotten hip to this little question now and have started to counter it with “Well, what do you feel a person with my skill set is worth and what are you willing to pay in a salary?” This pins them down to having to give you an answer with a real number. Your worth X but we can do Y. Ahhhh, now we’re talking.

So, two more interviews today. Lets see if the question comes up.

PS.
Also, do companies direct hire anymore? What I mean is all of them seem to be 3 – 6 month “contracts” with the ability to go permeant at some unknown point in the future. This is even after I say I don’t need benefits. Employers need to stop being so wishy-washy and uncommitted to the people they are employing to move their business along.

~ by Frustrated Hubby on March 14, 2008.

One Response to “Employers – Their Pissing Me Off!!”

  1. Ahh, yes. THAT question. Always used to hate that question. I think the reason alot of companies don’t direct hire anymore is it makes it easier for them to get rid of an employee if they go through a service to do it.

    Years ago my mom worked as bookkeeper for a “head hunter”. They would tell employees there wouldn’t be a fee on their end, then once the person got the job, they’d hit them with the fee. Used to eat my mom up to have to deal with it. That’s what finally made her tell the old bat what to do with her “job”.

    My brother lived and worked in Kuwait for the last 3 years. Now that he’s back he’s trying to find a job to be told that he’s “over-qualified” or wants too much money. He recently had one company tell him that if he’d renew his CDL they would start him out as a driver, then in 6 months MAYBE could move him up to the position he was applying for. He said “I’ve been in transportation for 15 years, WHY would I start over again because your company is trying to get going?”

    Makes me glad I’m able to stay home.

Leave a Reply

 
